Return to Headlines

Education Foundation Hosts 34th Annual M. Austin Carter Academic Awards Celebration



KENANSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA- May 7, 2018- The Duplin County Education Foundation hosted the 33rd Annual M. Austin Carter Academic Awards Celebration at the East Duplin Fine Arts Center. One hundred thirty-three seniors were presented with trophies for having been an honor student and maintaining an “A” average each year during their high school career.  The Foundation also awarded numerous scholarships.

Scholarship recipients from each school included:  

Duplin Early College High School- Madison Jones, Mirian Cornejo

East Duplin High School- William Ochoa Munoz, Gabriella Garcia, William Hatcher III, Ashton Ballard, Madison Sholar, Brittni Osborne

James Kenan High School- Nakya Hayes, Lourdes Martin

North Duplin Jr/Sr High School- Kimberly Stroud, Taylor Thompson, Anais Sofia Sosa, Esmeralda Vazquez-Nuncio, Anna Lee Thornton

Wallace-Rose Hill High School- Hannah Bryan, Kia Jeffers, Makayla Quinn

The Foundation also recognized seniors who maintained an “A” average for the school year.  Also celebrated were the 8th grade hosts and hostesses from each school.  The top two from each 8th grade class in the district served as hosts and hostesses for the evening. These students were:   Dayanara Gomez-Mill and Baudy Morales-Gabriel represented B.F. Grady Elementary School; Colbie Bond and Laura Bostic from Beulaville Elementary School;  Riley Catherine Tate and Cora Paige Haste from Chinquapin Elementary School; Myron Quijano and Clay Pridgen from Kenansville Elementary School; Macy Floyd and Janessa Kaylee Smith from North Duplin Jr/Sr High School; Brittney Figueroa and Iris Gonzales from Rose Hill-Magnolia Elementary School; Bryan Osorio Palacios and Haley Houston from Wallace Elementary School; and Aeryal Lewis and Franklyn Gonzalez-Lopez from Warsaw Elementary School.

“We are extremely proud of all of our students, especially these seniors.  They have worked so hard to reach this milestone with impeccable academic records,” said Superintendent Dr. Austin Obasohan. “On behalf of our Board, I would like to congratulate all of them and thank the Duplin County Education Foundation for continued support of our school system.”

The M. Austin Carter Academic Awards Celebration is named after Dr. Austin Carter who had the vision to establish an organization that could raise money and financially support special projects, thus the inception of the Duplin County Education Foundation.  The Foundation is an independent non-profit organization operating with a Board of Directors that is representative of every district in Duplin County Schools. The Board of Directors is dedicated to providing support and recognition to the students and staff of Duplin County Schools.  The Board of Directors wishes to sincerely thank the DCS family and community for the support necessary to accomplish its goals.