Return to Headlines

Board of Education Special Recognitions

Superintendent's Art Award Winners    Board Member Pam Edwards congratulates video award winners

DCS Seal

Horace Mann representatives present grants    Dexter Edwards presents Dr. Obasohan with donation


KENANSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA- December 13, 2018- Several items including the Superintendent’s Art Award winners, NC School Boards Association Video Contest winners, Horace Mann grant awards, and a donation from Smithfield, were celebrated during the Special Recognition portion of the recent Duplin County Board of Education business meeting.

The Superintendent’s Art Awards for October, November, and December were presented to acknowledge excellence in art education. Beulaville Elementary School’s fifth grade STEAMA art projects under the guidance of Art Teacher Donna Van Duinen featured for October included: Rat Family in Mouse Ville by Juan Benitez, Madison Baines, Zoey Boling, and Deniesse Arguelio Hernandez; Swimming with the Sharks by Ashlyn Brinson, Rebecca Beach, Shawn Davis, and Jacob Guardiola Alvarado; and DJ Bill by Jenna Batchelor, Samirya Carter, Zoe Cavenaugh, and Tyler Jason Brock. Fifth grader Jeneidi Sanchez Borja from Rose Hill-Magnolia Art Teacher Wendy Kelly’s class created November’s featured artwork, and Peyton Whaley, a first grader from Beulaville Elementary School, was recognized for her artwork for December.

Board Member Pam Edwards presented Beulaville Elementary School Interim Principal Pam Jenkins and former BES student Diego Andino with a certificate and a future pizza luncheon from the North Carolina School Boards Association. Andino, a member of the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Committee, with help from his peers and BES staff spearheaded a video project that won the school 2nd place in a statewide video contest “What’s Super About Public Schools” sponsored by the association. Mrs. Edwards also commended on behalf of the Board all schools for submitting videos.

Dexter Edwards presented Superintendent Dr. Austin Obasohan with a check for $3,000 from Smithfield. The company won the donation for national recognition of the “Pigs, Producers, & Pork Pig Party” that helped students see first-hand how food comes from the farm to the table. Edwards explained that each year Smithfield divisions are encouraged to present projects that represent their commitment to their community. “The East Central Division was awarded number one for the Pigs, Producers & Pork Pig Party. This would not have taken place if not for Dr. Obasohan and the Board adopting this and putting it on the agenda. With our award we were given $3,000 to donate to the charity of our choice and I am here tonight to present the $3,000 to Dr. Obasohan for Duplin County Schools.”

Representatives from Horace Mann presented four Duplin educators with grants to assist them in their classrooms. Recipients were: Maeghaen Flora from Wallace Elementary School, Verna Lippincott from Chinquapin Elementary School, Anne Rhinehart from North Duplin Elementary School, and Myra Kast from East Duplin High School.

Congratulations to all who were recognized and thank you, Smithfield.