Return to Headlines

DCS Students and Staff Honored by Board of Education


KENANSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA- May 10, 2019- Four students and two staff members were honored for outstanding achievements by the Duplin County Board of Education during this week’s meeting.  

Ola Zubrowicz is a rising senior at Duplin Early College High School (DECHS).  She will attend Governor's School East this summer and study in the Social Sciences field.  Ola loves history and plans to major in political science after graduating from high school.  She is passionate about dancing and has been dancing for 15 years. She also speaks Polish, which she learned from her parents.  She is the daughter of Piotr Zubrowicz and Joanna Rogowiecka.

Abbie Johnson is a rising senior at Wallace-Rose Hill High School (WRH).  She will attend Governor’s School East this summer and study in the Mathematics field.  Abbie is a member of the Spirit Club, the Science Club, and the Beta Club. She is also part of the Yearbook staff.  Abby attended the Rotary Youth Leadership Awards conference this past year. She is the daughter of Johnnie and Bonnie Johnson.

William Powell is a sophomore at WRH.  He will transfer in the fall to the NC School of Science and Mathematics (NCSSM). He plays in the Band and is a member of the Student Government and the Beta Club. William plans to major in Chemistry after graduating from high school and he also enjoys collecting elements from the Periodic Table.  He is the son of Ross and Myra Powell.

Sahmad Moore is a sophomore at James Kenan High School.  He will transfer in the fall to the NC School of Science and Mathematics.  He is a member of the Soccer team, Beta Club and the Educational Talent Search at James Sprunt Community College.  Sahmad enjoys music and loves to sing. His future career plans are to become a Computer Engineer. Sahmad is the son of Tony and Lateka Moore.  

Following the student recognitions, Daren Tyndall, Executive Director of Human Resources, recognized two teachers for achieving their initial National Board Certification.  During the presentation, Mr. Tyndall said “Duplin County Schools Board of Education would like to take this time to honor and recognize two exemplary professional educators for successfully achieving their initial national board certification status and for their commitment to teaching and learning. We would like to present Ms. Tammie Blackburn, Kindergarten teacher at Beulaville Elementary School and Ms. Lindsey Marshall, 2nd grade teacher at Rose Hill-Magnolia Elementary School with plaques for your outstanding accomplishment.”