Return to Headlines

Duplin Health Sciences Academy Holds Year-End Celebration

KENANSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA- June 4, 2019- Duplin Health Sciences Academy held its end-of-year celebration at the Ed Emory Auditorium in Kenansville on May 29, 2019.  Students, who obtained 50, 100, or 200 cumulative volunteer hours, were recognized with neck ribbon medallions. Academy members at each school and for each grade level received trophies for having the first and second highest grade point averages.   Others recognized were tenth graders who completed job shadowing at Vidant Duplin along with one student who completed a 175-hour summer internship with Duplin County Health Services. Several students received plaques for completion of the Certified Nursing Assistant and Pharmacy Technician courses.  The seniors were presented their certificates of completion along with an honor cord. Other seniors were recognized for logging the most volunteer hours for their school, while one overall winner was named. There were also five seniors recognized with a trophy for “Best in the Academy.” Nine ambassadors, representing the student leadership for the academy, were recognized with a medal for their outstanding service and for meeting extra requirements.  All academy members are expected to have rigor in their course work and concentrate their course load with Science, Math, and Health Science courses, as well as maintain a strong grade point average and meet volunteer requirements.

The 2019 academy completers were:  Elian Baltazar Chavez, Kaitlyn Beringer, Shanna Bond, Rachel Brown, Karleigh Byrd, Peyton Casteen, Alfredo Espinal, Kristen Foy, Samantha Froehlich, Nicole Garcia Cortez, Ashlyn Garris, Jeremy Goldsby, Haley Grady, Diamond Hall, Shaquandrea Harvey, Will Jackson, Anna Jenkins, Anna Logan Jones, Michaela Jones, Gracey Justice, Kailey Kennedy, Carlie Krimin, Brenda Lopez Hernandez, Jenny Molina Guzman, Itzel Montes Ruiz, Taylor Moomey, Marlena Price, Natalie Ramirez, Jasmine Savage, Molli Sholar, Lee Sutton, Madelynn Thigpen, Baylee Tyndall, Taylor Walker, Mack Whitehurst, Stroud Winstead, and Lilly Wooten.  

Congratulations, Seniors!