Return to Headlines

Transportation Department holds Meeting and Honors Bus Drivers!



The Duplin County Schools Transportation Department recently held their beginning of the Year meeting . Departmental employees from all across the county gathered at Duplin Commons for the annual event. The meeting kicked off with Mr. Bobby Mobley, Director of Transportation, welcoming everyone in attendance and thanking them for their service. Pastor David Walker continued with an opening prayer for the school year and asked blessings for the students and everyone involved in making sure that they arrive safely to school and home each day. 

Mr. Brent Davis, representing the Duplin County Board of Education, said, “You are truly a blessing to all of the children that you see everyday.  We really appreciate the job you do and the board commends each of you." Next, Mr. Jesse Dowe a Duplin County Commissioner told the group ”You are some of the best bus drivers in the state of North Carolina and you are appreciated in so many ways.”  

Dr. Obasohan followed with special remarks. He began by thanking the Board of Education for their support of the Transportation Department and said, “without their support we can’t do anything.” He thanked the leaders of the Transportation Department for what they do, as well as the bus drivers and assistant principals for coming together to get our kids safely to school and back home. “Our students are precious and soon they will be getting ready to get on your bus. All they need from you is for you to love them like they have never been loved before.” Dr. Obasohan finished by saying, “Our school year begins with you. We honor you and we appreciate everything you do.”

The meeting continued with Mr. Mobley mentioning highlights of the past year that included; placing 5th in the state of N.C. for school bus inspections, Karen Sholar receiving 1st place in the TIMS bus driving contest, and recognizing the entire department for having zero bus accidents last school year. The event followed with more recognition as School Bus Drivers of the Year were announced for each school as well as the district.

The following bus drivers were honored:

B.F. Grady Elementary, Cynthia Webster; Beulaville Elementary, April Brown; Chinquapin Elementary, Shamika Pittman; Duplin Early College High, Willie Farrior; East Duplin High, Avery Edwards; James Kenan High, Swindell Best; Kenansville Elementary, Gail Stridiron; North Duplin Elementary, Jerry Mullis; North Duplin Jr/Sr, Louise Watkins; Rose Hill-Magnolia Elementary, Elisa Hester; Wallace Elementary, Mildred Wallace; Warsaw Elementary, Angela Matthews; and Wallace-Rose Hill High, Linda Homes.

Duplin County Schools Bus Driver of the Year award was presented to Willie Farrior, Duplin Early College High School.

The school bus drivers along with everyone in the Transportation Department are truly committed to serving the students of Duplin County Schools. They are committed to the safety and well-being of all students as they are transported to and from school every day.