Return to Headlines

2019-2020 Superintendent's Student Advisory Committee Members Meet

Students with Dr. O


On Tuesday, October 1st, students representing each school across the district gathered as members of the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Committee for the 2019-2020 school year. The committee members were given the opportunity to openly share what they felt needed to be improved at their individual schools. Students were honest in their responses and passionate about the needs of their schools and each other. Dr. Obasohan shared his excitement for the level of leadership displayed and the student’s potential to positively impact the committee and the students of Duplin County Schools. 

Dr. Obasohan said, “You are the leaders representing all students and you have been given an opportunity to be the voice for your peers as to how you can make a difference. Giving the students a voice is significant for school improvement and for developing the young leaders in Duplin County Schools. It truly is a student driven collaboration of young minds and we are very blessed to have these committee members representing every student in our school system.”

Dr. Obasohan asks principals each year to select students to serve on the committee.           

The 2019-2020 Student Advisory Committee members are:

Ansleigh Kornegay - BF Grady Elementary School

Eli Thigpen -  Beulaville Elementary School

JaCorey Davis - Chinquapin Elementary

Zack Bryant - Duplin Early College High School

Billie Jo Weddle - East Duplin High School

Gabby Morales - James Kenan High School

Kate Ward - Kenansville Elementary School

Lucas Dail - North Duplin Elementary School

Skyler Figuera - North Duplin Jr/Sr. High School

Taekwon Wright  - Rose Hill Magnolia Elementary School

Zaniya Boney  - Wallace Elementary School 

Abbie Johnson  - Wallace-Rose Hill High School

Ja’Maury Coe  - Warsaw Elementary