Return to Headlines

17 DCS Educators Receive 2019 Tri-County Bright Ideas Grants

DCS Teachers Receive Over $15,000.00 in Grant Money To Enhance Classroom Instruction

On Thursday, October 24, 2019, Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation honored teachers from Duplin, Lenoir and Wayne County by presenting Bright Ideas Grants to support and enhance classroom instruction. 17 educators from Duplin County Schools received grants totaling $15,315.13. 

Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) received 305 applications this year. The 17 from Duplin County are among the 100 selected to receive funding for a total of $80,841.69. Michael Davis, General Manager for Tri-County EMC shared, “We are very pleased to be able to offer these grants year after year to teachers.  We know these grants are vital to providing additional funding for resources that will support student learning.” 

In addition to teacher recognitions, one Duplin County student’s artwork was showcased in the event. Brock Miller, a student at North Duplin Elementary won a Tri-County sponsored art contest which allowed Brock’s artwork to be printed on the Director’s gift bag which was given out to 10 teacher recipients during the evening. Congratulations Brock!

It was truly an evening of celebration for Duplin County Schools.

Teachers receiving Bright Ideas Grants are, Kelly Guy, Stacy Stewart, Tera Kennedy, Tracy Smith (BF Grady Elementary School); Courtney Brown, Donna Dexter, Karen McGee, Regina Kilpatrick, Robin Mewborn, Robyn Sutton, (Kenansville Elementary School); Danielle Ficken, Laura Bryan (North Duplin Elementary School); Jennifer Mobley (Beulaville Elementary School); Kimberly Marshburn (East Duplin High School); and Lynn Marhsburn, Stephanie Hudson (North Duplin Jr/Sr High School).