Return to Headlines

Go Local Grants Awarded to 5 Duplin County Teachers


Grant Recipients


Kenansville, North Carolina – January 15, 2020 - At Tuesday night’s Board of Education meeting, N.C. Farm Bureau Representative, Dexter Edwards presented 5 Going Local Grants to various teachers across the county. Rebecca Brown, Chinquapin Elementary; Lynn Marshburn, North Duplin Jr/Sr; Robyn Sutton, Kenansville Elementary; Tanya Novakowski, Rose Hill Magnolia; and Tara Davis, Wallace Elementary were N.C. Farm Bureau’s recent grant recipients.

Dexter Edwards presented the awards and shared, “These 5 teachers go above and beyond the call of duty to apply for the grants. It makes me feel good because Duplin County never loses in these grant opportunities. We have winners every time and I can’t tell you how big this is with the 100 counties and the number of schools vying for these grants opportunities.

Mr. Edwards presented the teachers with a certificate of recognition from N.C. Farms Bureau along with a check for their grant amount. He concluded with, “These grants are all about teaching the real-life aspects of agriculture to our children and these teachers' efforts are helping to do that in many ways.”

Congratulations to our "Go Local" Grant recipients!