Return to Headlines

DCS Honors the Retirement of Ms. Janice Wynn


Ms. Janice Wynn honoree  

DCS Board Honors Ms. Janice Wynn as She Retires from Duplin County Schools

Kenansville, North Carolina- July 7, 2020- Adhering to CDC social distancing guidelines, Tuesday night’s Board of Education meeting was held at Kenansville Elementary School. During this meeting, the Board honored Ms. Janice Wynn on her 27 years of service to Duplin County Schools. Board Chairman Mr. Brent Davis commended Ms. Wynn’s  service and commitment to the school system. He shared, “Tonight I have the privilege of honoring someone that has been with our school system for 27 years and someone we all hate to see leave. I just want to say it is a true honor to honor you tonight.” Mr. Davis went on to say that Ms. Wynn has served our district as guidance counselor, assistant principal, and principal. For the past 3 years in a row, she has stepped up to very challenging situations and continued to serve.  “On behalf of the Board we certainly want to wish you all the best and tell you how much we appreciate everything you have done.”

Ms. Wynn was given the opportunity to say a few words and said, “It has been an honor and a pleasure to work in Duplin County Schools and I have enjoyed every minute of it. I can’t say that it was a job but more of an adventure and I am so glad that I had the opportunity to take it.”  Ms. Wynn concluded by thanking everyone for their support and shared, “It has truly been an honor and every morning I wake up I will have Duplin County Schools on my mind and the children in my heart.

Dr. Austin Obasohan, Superintendent for Duplin County Schools shared, “On behalf of the Board of Education, we appreciate Ms. Janice Wynn’s commitment to our school system and her steadfast dedication to our students, staff, and the DCS community for the past 27 years. You have remained committed to your profession and most importantly to your students and staff. We wish you all the best and we are so thankful for your faithful service to Duplin County Schools.”