Return to Headlines


Students accepted to NCSSM

Five outstanding Duplin County Schools students were recognized at Tuesday’s Board of Education meeting for being accepted to the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics for the 2020-21 and 2021-22 school years.

The North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics is a tuition-free, public high school offering world-class education to juniors and seniors from across North Carolina who excel in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. This prestigious school offers both residential and online learning programs, each of which requires students to meet rigorous academic standards for acceptance.  The NCSSM experience is designed to transform students into thinker-maker-doers ready to lead North Carolina and the world.  

Congratulations to the following students selected for the residential program:

Cage Bullard – North Duplin Jr/Sr

Trust Obasohan – Wallace-Rose Hill High School

Bradley Warren – North Duplin Jr/Sr

Congratulations to the following students selected for the online program:

Nyasia Kenan – Duplin Early College High School

Jenson Welborn – East Duplin High School

Mrs. Nicole Murray, Interim Chief Officer for STEAMA Curriculum and Instruction, made the presentations and closed with these words, “These five young people represent the best of North Carolina’s students based on their outstanding scholarship qualities.  We are proud of your hard work and dedication and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.  We would also like to extend a special “thank you” to all of the teachers and administrators who have nurtured and supported these young people throughout the years and Mrs. Erica Jones and our school counselors for facilitating the NCSSM application process for our students.”