Return to Headlines

Students Selected for National Education Honor Society

Duplin County Schools is excited to announce that 11 students from Duplin Early College High School were recently selected for the National Education Equity Lab Honor Society. This achievement was awarded to these students for being among the top scholars in the nation in their National Education Equity Lab college-in-high school course.
The Ed Equity Lab is an education equity non-profit that propels post-secondary opportunity by delivering, and supporting, actual college credit bearing courses from top universities into teacher-led high school classrooms in selected Title 1 high schools across the nation. Students passing these dual-enrollment courses receive a university transcript, and ongoing support throughout the college journey. 

Tanya Smith, principal at Duplin Early College High School, shared, “As principal, I am elated that our students are being recognized in this manner. It was definitely a collaborative effort, from various stakeholders, that allowed this valuable opportunity to take place. I want to thank the DCS  Board of Education, Dr. Obasohan, National Education Equity Lab, James Sprunt Community College, and Kevin Smith for making it possible for our students to take a course at one of the top 100 colleges/universities in the nation.” On January 31st, these students will be inducted into the National Education Equity Lab Honor Society for earning top honors in the country on the course.

In addition, Nyaisa Kenan will be recognized as Valedictorian for earning the highest score in the country and Brittany Funez Hernandez will be recognized as Salutatorian for earning the second highest score in the country. Britney was also selected to give closing remarks at the National Education Equity Lab End of Course Ceremony in the Fall, serving as student representative. Ms. Nicole Barrett, DECHS’ MTSS Interventionist, and Ms. Willoughby Newcomb, school counselor, served as the Co-Teachers for the course. Tanya Smith, principal of DECHS was also selected to serve on the National Education Equity Lab Teacher Advisory Board for the 2022-2023 school year. 

Other Top Honors included:

Top 5% in the country: Gerica Cabrera, Bushra Elfgeeh, Evelyn Gamez Gomez, 
Top 10% in the country: Mason Batchelor, Natalee Ibarra, Dayanara Salazar
Top 15% in the country: Zaniya Simmons, 
Top: 20% in country: Meily Ortiz Berduo, Christian Repass

Kevin Smith, Assistant Superintendent for Accountability/Educational Equity/School Improvement/MTSS, shared, “We are extremely proud of our students for earning national honors based on their stellar performance in the Arizona State University and Amazon Web Services course in the fall.  We are grateful to NCDPI and the National Education Equity Lab for allowing our students to participate in university coursework while in high school.”

"We are very grateful to Dr. Metcalf, from NCDPI, who introduced this initiative to our region, and thankful to our school leadership and wonderful staff for implementing the program with fidelity.  We commend our students for their continued dedication and success," said Dr. Obasohan.


Congratulations DCS students on this outstanding achievement!