Return to Headlines

Nicole Lane Named Duplin County Schools CTE Teacher of the Year

  Picture of Ms. Nicole Lane

Kenansville, North Carolina - March 26, 2024- Ms. Nicole Lane, Family and Consumer Science Teacher at East Duplin High School, has been selected as the Duplin County Schools Career and Technical Education (CTE) Teacher of the Year. The district-level competition consisted of an application process to nominate a candidate. At the district level, candidates from the four high schools, along with the STEAMA 1.0 and STEAMA 2.0 teachers, submitted portfolios which were scored to determine the winner.  

Ms. Lane will now move on to represent Duplin County Schools at the regional/state level for a chance to be named the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching (NCCAT) CTE Teacher of the Year.  If selected, the NCCAT Teacher of the Year will receive: $5,000.00, participation in the national and state Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) conference, Instructional supply funds for the teacher's school, and a 3-year membership in North Carolina Association for Career and Technical Education (NCACTE). 

“The NCCAT CTE Teacher of the year process is truly a program that allows CTE teachers to be honored and appreciated for their hard work and dedication to our students. I am so proud of all our CTE teachers and know that Mrs. Nicole Lane will represent our district well as she moves on to the regional/state level. We are so very proud of Ms. Lane and all of her accomplishments and we wish her all the best in the next round!,” said Mrs. Erica Jones, Director of 9-13 Curriculum and CTE for Duplin County Schools.

Teachers nominated to compete at the district level can be found below:

Ann Albertson- Chinquapin Elementary School (STEAMA 2.0) 
Lori Bostic- Wallace-Rose Hill High School
Nicole Lane - East Duplin High School
Patricia Mason-  Warsaw Elementary School (STEAMA 1.0) 
Jamie Kelly- North Duplin Jr./Sr. High School
Darlene Quinn- James Kenan High School

Congratulations to all DCS teachers that were nominated!