Persons of the Year Recognized Despite Challenges of COVID-19

Duplin County Schools logo


 September 2020


DCS Persons of the Year Process Moves Forward Despite Challenges of COVID-19


Each year our district recognizes principals, assistant principals, teachers, and support staff members at the school and district level. Beginning in the spring, principals and assistant principals are voted on by their colleagues to determine who will represent the district as principal and assistant principal of the year. The Principal of the Year has the opportunity to participate in a regional interview process with finalists moving on to compete for N.C. Principal of the Year. 

Then, the district coordinator works with principals and district support staff leaders to select their school-based teacher of the year and support staff members of the year. Those selected representatives have the opportunity to advance and compete at the district level by participating in an extensive portfolio and interview process. The portfolios and interviews are scored by the previous year’s representatives along with members of the Duplin County Education Foundation to determine who will serve as district teacher and support staff of the year.  Due to health and safety guidelines this year's interviews were held virtually at the DCS Board of Education. The Teacher of the Year has the opportunity to participate in a regional interview process with finalists moving on to compete for N.C. Teacher of the Year. The process is then concluded with a recognition banquet honoring all of the representatives.  

The Duplin County Education Foundation plays a vital role in this process and contributes tremendously to the financial incentives given annually to participants along with organizing and hosting the recognition banquet. However, due to the challenges of COVID-19 the banquet has been postponed until 2021. This is just one of the many ways the Duplin County Education Foundation supports our school system and we are so proud to partner with them in this process. They are truly committed to serving the teachers, students and staff of Duplin County Schools and we are so thankful for the amazing support they continue to give.  

Even though the annual recognition is postponed for now, we want all of our representatives to know how proud we are of them and how excited we are to have them represent Duplin County Schools.  


Congratulations to our DCS educators!


Principal of the Year - Marketa Hargrove - Chinquapin Elementary

Assistant Principal of the Year - Tanya Smith - Rose Hill-Magnolia Elementary



Teacher of the Year Representatives 

Terry Smith - B.F. Grady Elementary 

Melody Wickline - Beulaville Elementary

Tiffany Wooten - Chinquapin Elementary

Dr. Phyllis Blackmon - Duplin Early College High School

Alex Barnette - East Duplin High School

Erica Levai - James Kenan High School

Karen McGee - Kenansville Elementary

North Duplin Elementary - Wes Satter

North Duplin Jr/ Sr - Alan Dupree (District Teacher of the Year)

Renaissance Center - Marc Thompson

Rose Hill-Magnolia Elementary - Lindsey Marshall

Wallace Elementary - Rebecca Retherford

Wallace-Rose Hill High School - Rosario Zapata

Warsaw Elementary - Michelle Kea


District Support Staff Representatives

Digital Learning & Media Coordinator - Laura Bryan - North Duplin Elementary

School Nurse - Vonda Grady- Warsaw Elementary

School Social Worker - Sarah Harris (District Support Staff of the Year)

School Counselor - Danielle Ficken - North Duplin Elementary